Advertisement: / Ohmygossip Couture / Celebrity Birthdays / Celebrity Deaths / Celebrity Baby News / Celebrity vacations / Reality TV news / Millionaires / Celebirty Travel News / Society & Business / Travel & Culture / Home & Kids / Health & Spirituality / Helena-Reet Ennet´s blog / Daily news from Scandinavia / Royals / Climate crises

The 15 contestants for Dancing on Ice have been revealed

The 15 contestants for  Dancing on Ice have been revealed

The 15 contestants for this year’s series of Dancing on Ice have been revealed and has all the info! Sugababes singer Heidi Range, actress Jennifer Ellison and former child star Corey Feldman lead the cast for the seventh series of the ITV show, which returns on January 8.

The world of soap is represented by Hollyoaks star Jorgie Porter, Emmerdale’s Matthew Wolfenden, Coronation Street actor Andy Whyment and EastEnders favourite Laila Morse.

Children’s TV duo Sam Nixon and Mark Rhodes will both do battle on the ice, along with ex-Blue Peter presenter Andy Akinwolere.

’90s singer Chesney Hawkes and Dallas actress Charlene Tilton are also taking part, while Britain’s top alpine ski racer Chemmy Alcott, freerunning founder Sébastien Foucan and fitness guru Rosemary Conley complete the line-up.

The 2010 series of Dancing on Ice was won by ex-Eastenders actor Sam Attwater.

Louie Spence and champion figure skater Katarina Witt join Robin Cousins on the new-look judging panel, replacing Emma Bunton and Jason Gardiner. Karen Barber continues in her role as head coach.

Christine Bleakley will serve as co-host to Phillip Schofield following Holly Willoughby’s move to BBC talent show The Voice.

Dancing on Ice 2012 launches Sunday at 6.30pm on ITV1.

Join Dancing on Ice Facebook page


Heidi Range, Jennifer Ellison, Corey Feldman, Jorgie Porter, Matthew Wolfenden, Andy Whyment, Laila Morse, Sam Nixon, Mark Rhodes, Andy Akinwolere, Chesney Hawkes, Charlene Tilton, Chemmy Alcott, Sébastien Foucan, Rosemary Conley.

Read also:
Dancing on Ice is a British television show co-hosted by Christine Bleakley and Philip Schofield, in which celebrities and their professional partners figure skate in front of a panel of judges. The format, devised by LWT and Granada Television, has been a prime-time hit in eight different countries, including Italy and Chile. In Australia, where it was titled Torvill and Dean’s Dancing on Ice, it was axed after just one series owing to production costs.
Originally titled Skating With Celebrities the show was renamed following the failure of ITV’s celebrity orientated 2005 summer schedule. Dancing on Ice is frequently compared to BBC’s Strictly Come Dancing.
The BBC actually did a Strictly Come Dancing special entitled Strictly Ice Dancing at Christmas 2004 which was won by England goalkeeper David Seaman.
ITV’s show was given a January premier amidst network doubts about its viability but became a surprise hit in Britain, where it became the third highest rated television show of 2006. It attained an impressive thirteen million viewers for the final in March.
Britain’s best-known ice-skating duo and former Olympic champions Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean help to train the aspiring dancers, and also appear throughout the show with comments and advice. Head Coach Karen Barber also trains the skaters for the live show. Since the beginning Torvill and Dean have opened every episode with a performance, with the exception of the second, third and fourth shows of the fourth series, when Torvill performed alone due to Dean’s recovery from a shoulder operation.
Schofield previously presented with Holly Willoughby, with commentary from Tony Gubba and the voiceovers are done by John Sachs. The members of The Ice Panel were originally Karen Barber, Jason Gardiner, Nicky Slater and Robin Cousins, and the fifth judge varied from series to series: Karen Kresge in the first series, Natalia Bestemianova in the second, Ruthie Henshall in the third and fourth and Emma Bunton in the fifth. In series 6, there were only three judges: Gardiner, Cousins and Bunton.
During the shows first two series it ran two supplementary programmes – Dancing on Ice Defrosted presented by Stephen Mulhern, and Dancing on Ice Exclusive (or Dancing on Ice Extra during its first series) hosted by Andi Peters alongside Andrea McLean in series one and Ben Shephard in series two. In mid 2007, it was announced that both shows would not return to accompany the third series as the audience attracted is out of ITV2’s target range.
As part of ITV’s new revamped schedule at the start of 2008, from the third series, the show aired on a Sunday night and featured updated music and new titles as well as redesigned graphics. The third series finale was a massive draw for ITV pulling an average 11.7 million viewers (up from 9.6 million the previous year) peaking at 12.6 million viewers over the two hour slot, up over a million from season two.
The fifth series began on 10 January 2010. The show has also been commissioned up until 2011 with Torvill and Dean as coaches for which they will be paid £250,000 each series.
It was announced by Phillip Schofield at the end of Series 6 that the show will return at the same time next year, although this has yet to be confirmed by ITV.
On 7 June 2011 Elstree Studios confirmed that Dancing on Ice would return to the studios for the upcoming 2012 series. Christine Bleakley was announced as the new co-host of the show replacing Holly Willoughby, whilst Katarina Witt and Louie Spence replace Emma Bunton and Jason Gardiner on the judging panel.

Scroll through a gallery of this year’s lineup below:
(All picures Copyright ITV)



High quality & nature friendly luxury cosmetics from Scandinavia -

error: Content is protected !!
Copyright © NordenBladet 2008-2021 All Rights Reserved.
Scandinavian / Nordic news and info in English.
Nordic News Service & Link Directory